Your Email Address:

First Name:

Depression comes and goes...

Tell us your story with bad breath
DM
Total Newbie

Depression comes and goes...

Post by DM »

My first realisation that something wasn't right was when I was 9 years old, on holiday with family at a Turkish restaraunt.
While waiting for my meal I got bored and took a toothpick and started picking at my teeth. I pulled the pick out, smelled it, and asked my mum why it "smelled like poo?"
And so it began.
My childhood was always happy. I was sporty, popular and my bad breath was only ever raised once by schoolmates. I brushed but never used mouthwash or floss. It was never anything that I worried about until age 16. I'd just finished school, started college and a job in a pub kitchen.
I had just began what would be my first and only and still going 'big' relationship.
Being a popular kid meant I was always confident with people and never had any hangups on life.
But people began to snigger from afar. They would look over, and laugh. They would cover their noses or take a step back when I talked to them. They would end conversations early or not want to speak to me. The confident and popular kid grew to know something. Something horrible. Something that he had commented on in the past of others.
I realised I had breath that smelled like sh*t. Not like rotten eggs, or fish or cheese...like sh*t.
My girlfriend of 10 years now has been great and she has grown with me and my breath. I am lucky to have her. She's told me ONCE that my breath smelled of faeces. I've recently made jokes about it and how I have accepted that "I know I'm clean but for some reason I'm stuck with this".
It's so sad that I have just accepted it.
I've used all different kinds of toothpaste and mouthwash. Even after I clean my teeth, there is still a smell there. I chew gum all day. I drink 10 pints of water daily. I do everything to mask the issue and feel panicked without gum/mints/bottle of water (to hide my mouth behind!).