Your Email Address:

First Name:

Questions regarding possible causes

Everything related with bad breath can be found here. Everything about products, research, news about bad breath......
sije
Total Newbie

Questions regarding possible causes

Post by sije »

My BB started around 12 years ago, when I was 18 years old. I have always suffered heavily from grass allergy and I was around that time treated with an injection of corticosteroids. Around that time I also started to use an asthma inhaler because of asthma-like symptoms in cold weather. The bad breath started a few months after I began using the inhaler, so I have always thought that the inhaler might have pulled the trigger.

I was in my final year of high school and became deeply depressed because of this and started to limit social activities. I read that the inhaler could cause fungus in the mouth, so that was what I thought initially caused it. In my desperation I went to 3-4 ENT doctors but none of them found any fungus in my mouth or any other possible solution. However I read back then, that wisdom teeths also could cause BB, so I had all of them removed. I also suffered from tonsil stones that smelled awful, so I also had the tonsils removed, which seemed to give a slight improvement, but I was no way cured.

I have had a fantastic girlfriend on and off for the past ten years, but she often said I had BB, and would sometimes ask if I had farted. I was glad that she was honest about it and made me aware of it, but little by little the disease ruined my self-esteem and made me even more depressed, which ultimately ended the relationship. I can’t blame her, as I imagine it must have been tough, being with me.

Therefore, when my girlfriend left me a few months ago, I thought I would devote all my focus to finding out the cause of this disease. This is how I found this site and I have spent hours searching for possible causes and cures. (Thank you all for posting your experiences)