Your Email Address:

First Name:

Excessive gas and lack of smell -- related to bad breath?

Everything related with bad breath can be found here. Everything about products, research, news about bad breath......
Obsessive
Total Newbie

Excessive gas and lack of smell -- related to bad breath?

Post by Obsessive »

Hi everyone,

I've been suffering from bb ever since I can remember. My nickname in 5th grade was "shitbreath." I have been reading the board obsessively over the last week and am starting to be convinced that there's no miracle cure because my bad breath is being caused by some sort of complex bacteria overgrowth. There will likely be no magic bullet, but I'm trying various things (GSE, AVC, chlorphyll tablets).

I believe the source of this bacteria overgrowth might have to do with all the antibiotics I had to take as a baby. I was born with severe ear infections and these treatments might have led to something out of balance. I was also very lactose intolerant but the symptoms have mostly gone away.

In addition to BB, I also suffer from tons of gas (I probably fart at least 30-50 times a day) and my stomach is often very bloated. This might have to do with a milk or gluten allergy and I haven't done too much testing to see if it has any effect.

Last, in addition to my post-nasal drip, I have a weak sense of smell. Do any other people with PND have very weak senses of smell? I can honestly never smell anything unless I'm very close or it's a very powerful smell.

Corpsebreath
Advanced

Post by Corpsebreath »

Yes there is a relationship between halitosis and loss of smell.

Read this:
http://chemse.oxfordjournals.org/conten ... 8.abstract

"The results suggest that the chronic presence of volatile sulfur compounds may have a negative effect on olfactory function."
Cres
Junior

Post by Cres »

I was also a lactose intolerant, and around the time my BB started, the symptoms related to lactose intolerance vanished.