Your Email Address:

First Name:

Halitosis V. Halitophobia

Everything related with bad breath can be found here. Everything about products, research, news about bad breath......
DontBreath
Total Newbie

Halitosis V. Halitophobia

Post by DontBreath »

I know I suffer from halitosis and halitophobia. Of the two, halitophobia has had a much more negative impact on my life. It's the constant fear, and shame that I'm rotten from the inside out. It hovers over my life like a storm cloud.

My story is similar enough to many others I've read on here. I was told I had bad breath for the first time in elementary school, and I've been told many times since then. I'm 35 now. I've been told a couple times by concerned family that I should "go to the dentist," and friends have made comments when breath mint commercials or whatever are on TV. I can self test using a cotton swab on the back of my tongue. It smells pretty bad (fecal I guess), so I do know it's not all in my imagination, but as most of you will understand, one of the hardest things for me is that I don't know the intensity or the frequency of it. I have had some reactions in my life some of them for sure real (girl putting mint on my desk in college), and some who knows (people changing seats on bus when seat opens). At the same time. It can't be as bad as I've been lead to believe it is. I've dated plenty of women. I'm not ostracized at work, and people do invite me to travel in vehicles or go to the movies with them.

My diet is quite good, and for all appearances, I'm quite healthy with a nice smile. I exercise. I have good dental hygiene. I use a neti pot, but I just can't stand the fact that something I have no control over is ruining my life.

I strongly believe that the cause has to do with a microbial imbalance in the mouth/sinuses/gut, but I've done everything I can to correct them through diet. No matter what I do, I have that turd smell coming from the back of my tongue.