First Name:

I’m giving myself a year to be cured.

Tell us your story with bad breath
dm31
Total Newbie
Great Britain

I’m giving myself a year to be cured.

Post by dm31 »

Hey everyone, hope you’re all doing well! I’ve made a few other posts but I’ve come to a new decision lately and wanted to share! I’ve decided I’m not going to let the demon of BB control me any longer, I want a normal life and I’m ready to get it.

For a little background, I’ve had BB since around aged 11/12 I believe. A friend told me my breath stunk and since then I’ve been obsessed with it. I would chew gum, eat sugary mints (I know bad) all through school. My oral hygiene was pretty bad and my diet consisted of mostly sugar. I had a few cavities between the ages of 11 and 16 which was probably due to the obsessive mint eating!

I had an impacted wisdom tooth removed around age 16 I believe - although this done nothing to reduce my BB. I also had a tonsillectomy which again didn’t help :(

I’m not entirely sure how bad my BB really is. I know it’s there, I have a foul taste in my mouth all the time and can almost feel how hot and stinky my breath is. The issue is I have no idea what it smells like either as I cannot smell it myself. I get reactions from people daily and I’ve noticed people seem to get a blocked nose around me. I also have no idea if it comes from both my mouth and nose or just my mouth :(

Incredibly, I did manage to have a bf for 5ish years. He never once complained about my BB and would always kiss me. The only time I remember him complaining was once or twice of a morning but I guess morning breath is pretty normal. I used to think, if he’d comment on my breath in the morning surely he would have commented on my ‘normal’ BB? Who knows! I have also managed to be in a new relationship for a month or so. He always wants to kiss me although has made a few jokey comments about my breath smelling :(

In terms of what symptoms/things I have going on, I’ll try to list them: